Social Education Victoria
You are here: Professional Learning > CCE > CCE Policies

National and State Policy Documents Relevant to CCE

Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS)

1. Go to for an overview of VELS by domain, noting the place of CCE in the Physical, Personal and Social Learning Strand.

2. Visit the Civics and Citizenship domain ( to explore the topics:

  • Introduction to the domain
  • Structure of the domain
  • Downloads

3. Select each of the levels 1 to 6 to explore the nature and scope of C&C in each of the levels.


Standards and Progression Points

1. Visit for an overview of standards and progression points.

The progression points are part of a package of resource materials designed to assist teachers in implementing the VELS, assessing student progress and reporting to parents.

The purpose of the progression points is to assist teachers in making on-balance, holistic judgments about student progress towards the standards. Students follow different pathways as they progress through the domains. Despite this, it is often possible to identify the pathway that students typically follow as they learn. This means that teachers use their professional judgment about how to use the progression points in relation to their classroom programs. They are illustrative of student progress and therefore have not been written for every element of a standard. Progression points are not intended to be used as a 'syllabus'.

The progression points are represented on a scale as developmental points along an underlying continuum between the standards. Students will be working across a range of levels of the VELS at any given time.

The progression points follow a scale with three points between each standard. The progression points scale ranges from 0.5 to 6.75, depending on the levels for which standards are defined for each domain. For example, in Science standards are described from Level 3 and progression points are described from 2.25. Where standards are described from Level 1, there is one progression point 0.5 at Level 1 and three progression points for Levels 2 to 6. Beyond Level 6 progression points are set at 6.25, 6.5 and 6.75.

Progression points at 3.25, 3.5 and 3.75, for example, represent students' progress beyond the Level 3 standard towards the Level 4 standard.

For each reporting period, teachers make on-balance judgments about student progress in relation to the standards. The progression points together with assessment maps assist teachers in making this judgment. Teacher judgment is based on evidence gained from the range of formal and informal assessment tasks and learning experiences undertaken over the semester. Teachers then make overall, on-balance judgments about student progress on the continuum.

2. Select 'Civics and Citizenship' from the left-hand menu ( for the CCE Standards and Progression Points.

Assessment maps

Select 'Assessment Maps' from the left-hand menu ( for the published Assessment Maps for Civic & Citizenship and work samples from a range of levels.


Melbourne Declaration on Education Goals for Young Australians

A PDF of the Melbourne Declaration can be downloaded by clicking here.


National Statements of Learning for Civics and Citizenship

See for the National Statements of Learning.

The Statements of Learning for Civics and Citizenship Education, and their professional elaborations, were developed by the Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs (MCEETYA), and are the product of a collaborative initiative of Australian education jurisdictions to achieve greater consistency in the curriculum.

The Statements are designed for curriculum developers, and highlight the learning opportunities in the curriculum for the civics and citizenship education domain.

Years 3, 5, 7 and 9 have been designated as the junctures at which opportunities to develop civics and citizenship knowledge, skills, understanding and capacities exist in the curriculum in the respective jurisdictions. The Statements therefore describe opportunities to learn at those levels of schooling, and are followed by the professional elaborations which explain how those opportunities may be achieved in the curriculum.

The Statements of Learning for Civics and Citizenship Education, and their elaborations for each level of schooling, are grouped by 'aspects' – namely Government and Law, Citizenship in a Democracy, and Historical Perspectives – which are common to curriculums across the jurisdictions.


Commonwealth Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR)


A very useful site about civics and citizenship, with some thought-provoking articles, and a range of links for teachers, patents, experts, resources, PD, units of work, school case studies.